Indian Premier League ( IPL): Learn All About IPL

 IPL (Indian Premier League)

Indian Premier League ( IPL): Learn All About IPL

Many people watch IPL but don’t know much about IPL. How and when did IPL start ? How is IPL conducted ? And complete information about IPL is given below.

Indian Premier League ( IPL). The IPL was established in 2007 by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). IPL is a professional men’s Twenty20 (t20) cricket association. And this union is formed with 10 teams (8 teams currently playing); Who come from different 10 cities.

IPL matches are organized every year from March to May. And huge number of spectators come all over the world to watch IPL. And the IPL league is a major window of the ICC Future Tour programme.

History of IPL

The first Indian Cricket League was started in 2007 which was funded by Zee Entertainment Company. The Indian Cricket League was not even recognized by the BCCI and the ICC. For this reason the members of BCCI were not happy to join the Indian Cricket League. Furthermore, the BCCI increased the prize money of domestic tournaments for players not participating in the Indian Cricket League and also imposed a life ban on players joining the Indian Cricket League. 

In 2007, the Indian cricket team won the T20 World Cup.  To celebrate this, on 13 September 2007, the BCCI announced a franchise based T20 cricket competition;  Which is known as Indian Premier League.The first session of the IPL match started in New Delhi on April 2008. Lalit Modi, the BCCI Vice President who spearheaded the IPL effort, gave details of the tournament, including its format, prize money, franchise revenue system and team structure rules. In addition, the IPL will be run by a seven-member governing council consisting of former India players and BCCI officials. The top two teams of the IPL will qualify for that year’s Champions League Twenty20. 

Modi also said that he was working on the idea for two years. And the IPL didn’t start as a “knee reaction” for the ICL. The league’s initial form was similar to that of the English Premier League and NBA in the United States. 

An auction was held on January 24, 2008; So that the owners of the new league can be decided. Where the total base value of the franchise was approximately $400 million. Ultimately, all franchises were sold for a total of $723.59 million. The Indian Cricket League soon stopped in 2008. 

Indian Premier League ( IPL): Learn All About IPL

Some of the team composition rules (as of the 2020 season) are as follows:

  The strength of the squad should be between 18 and 25 players, with a maximum of 8 overseas players.

  The salary limit for the entire squad should not exceed ₹850 million (US$11 million).

  Under-19 players cannot be selected unless they have previously played first-class or List A cricket.

  A team can play a maximum of 4 foreign players in its playing XI. 

Match rules

Television timeouts are used in IPL games. And therefore there is no time interval; In which the teams have to complete their innings. If umpires find teams abusing this special right; then fine can be imposed. Each team is given a “strategic timeout” of two and a half minutes between each innings; One must be taken by the bowling team between the end of the 6th and 9th over, and one must be taken by the batting team between the end of the 13th and 16th over.

  Since the 2018 season, the umpire decision review system is being used in all IPL matches, giving each team one chance to review the on-field umpire’s decision per innings.

Prize money

The 2019 season of IPL offered a total prize money of ₹500 million (equivalent to ₹530 million or US$6.9 million in 2020), with the winning team paying ₹200 million (equivalent to ₹210 million or US$2.8 million). Earned. 2020). The first and second runners-up received ₹125 million (US$1.6 million) and ₹87.5 million (US$1.1 million) respectively, with the fourth-placed team also winning ₹87.5 million (US$1.1 million). No prize money is given to other teams. IPL rules state that half of the prize money should be divided among the players.

Current teams

Chennai Super Kings 
Delhi Capitals 
Gujarat Titans 
Kolkata Knight Riders 
Lucknow Super Giants 
Mumbai Indians 
Punjab Kings 
Rajasthan Royals 
Royal Challengers Bangalore 
Sunrisers Hyderabad

We will write about IPL team in detail in another post.

Indian Premier League ( IPL): Learn All About IPL

IPL season results

Season Winner Winning margin Runner-up Final venue No. of teams Player of the series
2008 Rajasthan Royals 164/7 (20 overs) Won by 3 wickets Chennai Super Kings 163/5 (20 overs) DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai 8  Shane Watson (RR)
2009 Deccan Chargers 143/6 (20 overs) Won by 6 runs Royal Challengers Bangalor 137/9 (20 overs) Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg 8  Adam Gilchrist (DC)
2010 Chennai Super Kings 168/5 (20 overs) Won by 22 runs Mumbai Indians 146/9 (20 overs) DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai 8  Sachin Tendulkar (MI)
2011 Chennai Super Kings 205/5 (20 overs) Won by 58 runs Royal Challengers Bangalore 147/8 (20 overs) M. A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai 10 Chris Gayle (RCB)
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders 192/5 (19.4 overs) Won by 5 wickets Chennai Super Kings 190/3 (20 overs) M. A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai 9  Sunil Narine (KKR)
2013 Mumbai Indians 148/9 (20 overs) Won by 23 runs Chennai Super Kings 125/9 (20 overs) Eden Gardens, Kolkata 9  Shane Watson (RR)
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders 200/7 (19.3 overs) Won by 3 wickets Kings XI Punjab 199/4 (20 overs) M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru 8 Glenn Maxwell (KXIP)
2015 Mumbai Indians 202/5 (20 overs) Won by 41 runs Chennai Super Kings 161/8 (20 overs) Eden Gardens, Kolkata 8  Andre Russell (KKR)
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad 208/7 (20 overs) Won by 8 runs Royal Challengers Bangalor 200/7 (20 overs) M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru 8  Virat Kohli (RCB)
2017 Mumbai Indians 129/8 (20 overs) Won by 1 run Rising Pune Supergiant 128/6 (20 overs) Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad 8  Ben Stokes (RPSG)
2018 Chennai Super Kings 181/2 (18.3 overs) Won by 8 wickets Sunrisers Hyderabad 178/6 (20 overs) Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai 8  Sunil Narine (KKR)
2019 Mumbai Indians 149/8 (20 overs) Won by 1 run Chennai Super Kings 148/7 (20 overs) Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad 8  Andre Russell (KKR)
2020 Mumbai Indians 157/5 (18.4 overs) Won by 5 wickets Delhi Capitals 156/7 (20 overs) Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai 8  Jofra Archer (RR)
2021 Chennai Super Kings 192/3 (20 overs) Won by 27 runs Kolkata Knight Riders 165/9 (20 overs) Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai 8  Harshal Patel (RCB)

Leave a Comment